Ausburg – Bavaria, Germany trip day 4

After a long drive through the beautiful Bavarian countryside, listening to English music on the German radio, we made it to the city of Ausburg. 

Firstly, after a small walk through the shops and buildings, we went to a pizza restaurant, overlooking the old buildings and tram lines (which I have never seen!).

   
   
After filling up on pizza and Spezi (coke and fanta branded drink), we walked to the Rathaus (the town hall) and into the ‘golden hall’, this is a grand room decorated with magnificent paintings and a brilliant gold interior. Kat and her mother kindly translated some information on Ausburg, and it’s history and I learnt about it’s twin towns and how the wars affected the city. 

   

   
Following this, we walked to the very hidden door of a church, climbed up the many narrow flights of steps until we reached the top, with only five minutes to go until the bells right above us chimed in the hour. 

It took me by surprise, the first chime, it was 3 o’clock and the  bells were very loud. This still didn’t stop me enjoying the view I could see from the top: of the old city skyline, the low buildings and the onion shaped roofs. 

  
We then walked around some more, I brought ice cream for Kat, her mum and her sister and we saw the original canals. (I learnt that Ausburg was known as the Bavarian Venice).

Lastly, we visited the Mozart Haus, mozarts childhood home, now developed into a museum of the great composer. Luckily, there was German and English headsets available for me to walk and listen so I could learn and understand.

   
 
Ellie x

Leave a comment