Feminism, Free the nipple and Favouritism 

Hello! So today I thought would take on a serious topic, but I will post a winter favourites and my skincare products post! So keep an eye out for those.

The topic: Feminism and equality

Now, I am all for equality and being a feminist, but some people think that by having ‘feminine’ in feminism, it is about women being better than men, which is completely wrong! I believe men and women should be treated the same, and there should be equality between both genders, even if this equality isn’t always beneficial to me or other women! For example, female abusers should have the same level of punishment and respect as make abusers; I know that if a man is abused by his female partner it isn’t taken as seriously as it would if a woman was abused by a man! This also counts for make and female rape victims, and how much attention they get.

For a slightly different discussion – sexual organs and the human body:

Many of my friends have been told by teachers to put on a jumper because their shoulders were “too revealing”,and our school doesn’t allow shorts, even in the burning heat of the summer, unless it’s a part of the pe kit. But why are shoulders or thighs sexual!? It’s not a girls fault that a boy can’t control himself when he sees a girl’s legs. And all the girls who like girls can hold keep calm around other girls in shorts! In all honesty, it’s just stupid.

Many of you would have seen the hashtags for ‘free the nipple’, because obviously, over the years, we decided that the identical male nipples are ok, but female nipples are just wrong, even thought they actually have a use; we can’t even breast feed in public without an uproar, because it obviously doesn’t matter that a child needs feeding or it will bawl it’s eyes out, just as long as you don’t have to see that monstrosity called human nature

Imagine it’s summer, the sun’s rays glowing, as you sweat under your tank tops and, if you’re comfortable, bikinis, which also leave tan lines, and all the men, large or skinny can walk around without a shirt and feel, maybe only slightly, better. I know that when I’m sweating on the beach, all I want to do is walk around topless. But no, no you can’t Ellie, because now you’re older and you have boobs, you just can’t show them, no matter how hot you are (both kinds! Ha!)

Oh! Talking about body sizes and topless; I’ve noticed how larger men can go into public, or post a picture of themselves topless, and won’t get a second glance or a nasty comment, but a larger girl, wearing a crop top or bikini, gets called fat and told she shouldn’t wear those types of clothes. But what can we do about it…. Other than being less freakin judgemental!!

I’m sorry if by the end I was comparing men to women, and how much better you guys have it. I can’t even explain to you how envious I am of men, and how little freedom we have, because someone said that certain things are socially unacceptable. 

I realise we try to do things about this, but their not always effective: graphic pictures if a female breast have to be covered or photoshopped with a male nipple, otherwise they will be deleted, people will always be biased, and some People just don’t understand what feminism is.
I hope you found this insightful, and if you have any discussions or questions, please comment bellow! 

Thank you,

Ellie x

Leave a comment